youtube  facebook  linkedin  twitter fairHousewebsite  R blue whitewebsite

You are here: Home | About the Association | History of H.D.A.R.

History of H.D.A.R.

Brief History

The High Desert Association of Realtors, formerly Victor Valley Association Of REALTORS, has been very fortunate over the years to have the guidance of capable and experienced leadership, as we have today with President Michele Davies.  We have been privileged to have people serving a second term as President as Hanna Knapp did in 1994 and 2001 and Jason Landon in 1993 and 2002 and Bess Kline in 2003 and 2012. President Michele is a second generation REALTOR® as her Father, Chuck Moore, served as President in 1992.  Our President-Elect, Kari Leon, will also be a second generation President as her Father, Sam DeFazio, was President in 1981. It speaks well of our Association to have people involved over the years with a true concern as to how their organization is run.

High Desert Association of REALTORS® charter was May 22, 1948.  Elton Goble was the first President and he served from 1948 through 1950.  HDAR was originally named the Mojave Valley Board of Realtors and in 1958 became the Victor Valley Board of REALTORS®.  Today, the gavel that was presented to the Mojave Valley Board of REALTORS® in 1948 is still used at all Board of Director meetings.

Things and people may have changed over the past 65 years but our mission has remained the same. " The purpose of the High Desert Association of REALTORS® is to help its members become more profitable and successful."  Our vision is "The High Desert Association of REALTORS® is the source of essential business services and the association of choice for real estate professionals committed to excellence and through collective action, promotes the preservation of real property rights."

Throughout it's history, the High Desert Association of REALTORS® has always strived especially hard to support the needs of the High Desert communities it serves.  The HDAR sponsors several fundraising events each year, with the money raised from these events contributed to several local charity organizations.

We would like to acknowledge our Past Presidents that are still active  today and thank them for their excellence in leadership and continued service to our association.

1975  Gary Stater

1986  Becky Otwell

1989  Jack Harrison

1990  Craig Kudrle

1991  James Phillips

1992  Chuck Moore

1993  Jason Landon

1994  Hanna Knapp

1996  Stephanie Glassey

1999  Eileen Patterson

2001  Hanna Knapp

2002  Jason Landon

2003  Bess Kline

2004  Deborah Light

2005  Donny Jensen

2006  Chuck Knapp

2007  Ann McDonald

2008  Caroll Yule

2009  Jo Ann Tidwell

2010  Glenn Zimmerman

2011  Cecil Volsch

2012  Bess Kline


You are here: Home | About the Association | History of H.D.A.R.